Disclaimer:

The list of states introducing legislation and regulation for daily fantasy sports contests is constantly changing. We make every effort to keep this list as current as possible, but sometimes a game changer slips into our blindspot.

Last modified: July 26, 2021

Number of States Legalized: 46

Alabama
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
May 28, 2019

Summary:
  • Prohibits contests based on collegiate or amateur events
  • Registration: Required
  • Registration Fee: If operator has gross revenue > $10M then $85k; If operator gross revenue < $10M then $1k
  • Minimum Age: 19
  • Tax Rate: 10.5%
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Alaska
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Arizona
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
August 28, 2021

Summary:

Application:


Arkansas
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
April 7, 2017

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Prohibits contests based on collegiate or high school events
  • Registration: Not Required
  • Tax: 8% of in-state revenue

Application:


California
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:
January 27, 2016

Summary:

Case: Spiegel v. Draftkings

Court: Central District of California

Status: Transferred to District of Massachusetts for consolidated pre-trial proceedings, In re: Daily Fantasy Sports Litigation.


Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Colorado
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
June 10, 2016

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • License – Standard Operator: Required
  • License – Small Operator2: Not Required
  • License Fee – Standard Operator: TBD
  • Registration – Standard Operator: Not Required
  • Registration – Small Operator2: Required
  • Registration Fee – Small Operator: TBD
  • Regulatory Fee: Required, annually
  • Tax: None
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Connecticut
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
May 27, 2021

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Registration Fee: $15,000 or 10% of gross in-state revenue
  • Registration Term: 1 year
  • Tax: 10.5% ofgross in-state revenue
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Delaware
Legal:
Yes

Effective Date:
July 26, 2017

Summary:

Application:


Florida
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Georgia
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Hawaii
Legal:
No

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:


Idaho
Legal:
No

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:


Illinois
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Indiana
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
July 1, 2016

Summary:

Application:


Iowa
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
May 24, 2019

Summary:

Application:


Kansas
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
May 19, 2015

Summary:

Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws


Application:


Kentucky
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Louisiana
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
June 9, 2020

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Authorizes Louisiana Gambling Control Board to regulate online DFS contests

Application:


Maine
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Prohibits contests based on collegiate or high school events
  • Registration: Required
  • Registration Fee: 10% of in-state revenue, up to $5,000
  • License Fee: If Gross Revenues in past year > $100,000, then license fee is $2,500; if Gross Revenues in past year < $100,000, then license fee is $0
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Maryland
Legal:
Yes

Effective Date:
October 1, 2018

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Operators must prevent use of third-party scripts for entering contests
  • Operators must identify experienced players4
  • Prohibits offering college sports contests
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Deposit Limit: $1,000 per month; However, a player may request a temporary increase in deposit limit
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Massachusetts
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:
  • Authorizes lottery commission to implement online fantasy sports via players purchasing pre-paid cards from the state gambling commission
  • Permits operators to bid on providing the commission an online platform for DFS contests
  • Requires operators provide a “free-play site”
  • Minimum Age: 21
  • Deposit Limit: $1,000 per month; However, a player may request a temporary increase in deposit limit

Application:


Michigan
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
December 20, 2019

Summary:
  • License: Required
  • License Fee: $5,000, with a cap of 10% net revenue
  • License Renewal Fee: $1,000, with a cap of 10% of net revenue
  • License Term: 1 year
  • Initial Fee: $10,000
  • Renewal Fee: $5,000
  • Tax: None
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Prohibits contests based on college, high school, or youth sports events
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Minnesota
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Mississippi
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:
  • Legalizes fantasy contests with an entry fee
  • License: Required
  • License Fee: $5,000
  • License Term: 3 years
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Missouri
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
August 28, 2016

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Allows operators prior to April 1, 2016, to continue until receipt or denial of license. Must apply by October 1, 2016
  • Requires operators offer “beginner-only” contests, in which highly experienced players4are not permitted to participate
  • License: Required, from Gaming Commission
  • Registration Fee: $10,000 annual fee or 10% of net revenuefrom previous year
  • Licensing Renewal Fee: $0-$5,000 based on net revenues from previous year
  • Tax: 11.5%
  • Audit: Required, annually
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Montana
Legal:
No

Legislation:

Effective Date:
October 1, 2017

Summary:
  • Clarifies that online fantasy sports are illegal under the state’s gambling laws
  • Permits small, social fantasy sports leagues between acquaintances

Application:


Nebraska
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Nevada
Legal:
No

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:


New Hampshire
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
July 18, 2017

Summary:
  • Registration: Required
  • Registration Fee: None Required
  • Registration Term: 1 year
  • Tax: None Required
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


New Jersey
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:
  • Licensed casino partner OR at least one of operator’s servers must be located in Atlantic City, NJ
  • Registration: Required
  • Registration Fee: Based on Revenue
    • Revenue: $0 – $49,999, Registration Fee: $5,000
    • Revenue: $50,000 – $99,999, Registration Fee: $10,000
    • Revenue: $100,000 – $250,000, Registration Fee: $20,000
    • Revenue: Over $250,000, Registration Fee: $50,000
  • Tax: 10.5% of in-state revenue, paid quarterly
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


New Mexico
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:
H 314

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

New York
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
August 3, 2016

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Allows operators prior to November 10, 2015, to continue to operate until receipt or denial of registration
  • Each registrant must submit a report to the commission by June 13 of each year
  • Registration: Required, from New York State Gaming Commission
  • Registration Term: 3 years
  • Registration Fee: None
  • Tax: 15.5%, not to exceed $50,000
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


North Carolina
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:
HB 929
(June 5, 2019)

Effective Date:
April 16, 2019

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

North Dakota
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Ohio
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
March 23, 2018

Summary:
  • License: Required
  • License Fee: Not to exceed $10,000 per year or $30,000 per three years
  • Registration Fee: Based on Players
    • Players: < 5,000, Registration Fee: $3,000
    • Players: 5,000 – 9,999, Registration Fee: $9,000
    • Players: 10,000 – 14,999, Registration Fee: $15,000
    • Players: Over 15,000, Registration Fee: $30,000
  • Tax: None
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Oklahoma
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:
February 11, 2016

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Oregon
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Pennsylvania
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
October 30, 2017

Summary:
  • Operators required to maintain a place of business within Pennsylvania
  • License: Required
  • License Fee: $50,000
  • License Term: 5 years
  • License Renewal fee: $10,000
  • Tax: 15% of gross revenue
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Rhode Island
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:
March 1, 2017

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

South Carolina
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

South Dakota
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Tennessee
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
March 1, 2017

Summary:
  • Allows current operators 60 days after applications are made available to continue operating
  • License: Required, from Secretary of State
  • Registration Fee: $1000-75,000 + $300 application fee
  • Tax: 6%
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Deposit Limit: $2500
  • Audit: Required, annually
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*
  • Creates an advisory task force to study and report findings by July 1, 2017

Application:


Texas
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:
September 1, 2017

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Utah
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Vermont
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
January 1, 2018

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Directs Attorney General and Executive Branch to propose registration fee and tax framework by 12/15/17
  • Registration: Required, annually
  • Registration Fee: $5,000, effective immediately
  • Tax: TBD
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Virginia
Legal:
Yes

Legislation:

Effective Date:
March 7, 2016

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws
  • Registration: Required, from the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Registration Fee: $8,300
  • Registration Term: 1 year
  • Tax: None
  • Minimum Age: 18
  • Audit: Required, annually
  • Establishes standard consumer protection protocol*

Application:


Washington
Legal:
No

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:
  • Exempts DFS from gambling prohibition laws

Application:


Washington D.C.
 
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

West Virginia
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Wisconsin
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:
October 9, 2017

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.

Wyoming
Legal:
Yes*

Legislation:

Effective Date:

Summary:

Application:

* No explicit DFS legislation is enacted, however, DFS operators are active in the state.